I'm starting a big project. While this is a blog meaning that anyone could read it and I secretly hope they do... at the same time I hope no one I know is reading it because I'm embarking, I hope, on a long and honest conversation with myself about Poland and Poles. I'm doing this because, quite frankly, I'm a bit depressed in the "seriously, go see a therapist" sense of the word and Val said this might be a valid way of getting some stuff off my chest. But, it can't be all bitchy because it would get too bitchy. So I will have to think of good things, too. Every other night or at least every other entry.
Tonight... there are so many things that bother me, but I guess I can start off with something bad and good.
Taxi drivers here never, EVER, EVER wear their seat belts. Ever. Except, of course, tonight. Honest to god, a taxi driver put on his seatbelt. I saw him (of course it was a him) do it with my own eyes. First time ever. I don't know why they almost universally refuse to wear their seat belts. How can people who drive all the time be so (willfully?) ignorant or flippant about the laws of physics, particularly the bit about "an object in motion..."? So when they do get into an accident ...and here they are at least four times more likely to do so than Germany (if not more like six times, I can't remember the death statistics, see my earlier post)... they will probably die. If they don't die, it'll cost us taxpayers more. And while it's yet another post, how come the damn cops never stop these guys? Capgemini is literally right next to the police station but I've never once seen them stop drivers coming in or out of our parking lot ...which we share with the cops. It'd be like shooting fish in a barrel.
Ok, that's enough for tonight. Next post will be positive.
Thursday, May 29, 2008
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)