Thursday, May 31, 2007

The New Justice Team

So I found out why last week's ASEC lesson was canceled: two of their employees were killed in a hit-and-run, basically. Some maniac (read: typical Polish driver) had been illegally overtaking up a hill and the two employees were on the other side, in their car. They crest the hill and this maniac is doing about 180 KPH (115 mph) in a 90 KPH zone. The employee and his fiancee serve to the right to avoid this guy, they bounce off the semi truck next to them, go into the oncoming lane, hit a Toyota Avensis (and break that guy's arm) and then slam into a tree and ...died.

The maniac, BTW, got away.

I would love to deliver personal punishment to all of these people who break the law without regard for the lives they put at risk, shorten, drastically change or end. I talked to one of my ASEC students today about it and he agreed with me that the only way to quickly and resonably change the situation is my idea that we raise all the fines immediately and channel that money back into the police force to give them all raises and encourage them to continue giving absurdly high fines. Link it with insurance rates. Seize cars, suspend licenses, give jail time. I'm spreading the word. I haven't started riding around with a crowbar in the car, but I'm very close to it. If the police and politicians won't stop these people ...someone has to. It's our duty as good citizens.

In other news: I stopped by the immigration/visa office and checked on my visa. Things are moving at the speed of evolution, perhaps even plate techtonics ...and the "decision" should be ready tomorrow, perhaps monday. The card will be ready 4-5 weeks after that.

I'd bitch more about the time it takes for stupid crap like this to be done especially when I've already got a card and JUST went through this process so why do they have to check with the border guards and cops and everyone else less than two months after they checked before ...but places like the US are even worse, although that is down to terrorism-induced pussyness and keepin' out the riff-raff. The riff-raff natually keep out of Poland so it's not really a problem and therefore I don't know why they have to pretend that this is the promised land.

Weather's still good. It cooled down a lot yesterday and was about 20-22 today. Lots of clouds, yay!

Looking forward to the weekend.

Wednesday, May 30, 2007

Same ol.

It was blisteringly hot yesterday, as it has been recently but today we have a true respite. It's 23C in the flat and about 18C outside. Not too bad.

I had a good chat with Kate, one of my two evening students. We went over that day's car/driving stupidity, politics, etc. I wish the other student had made more of an effort to join in but she rarely talks unless I really prompt her to.

Moving on ...I expect better than filth like this from Deutsche Welle.
  1. Oooh, they use cookies! Isn't that naughty?! ...So 1999. Cookies are actually the unique ID that is referenced next.
  2. Oooh, they record your IP, a "a series of numbers that uniquely identifies the connecting device." Umm, no it doesn't. It's not unique, most of them are shared between hundreds or thousands of customers per "unique IP". Those that aren't are often recycled (DHCP).
  3. This is really about some German dork's worries about Google's planned acquisition of Doubleclick, a company so shitty that, as the article says, reaches up to 85% of the internet population due to the plethoric spew of their crappy advertising.
"Paradoxically, Google prides itself on the same transparent philosophy that critics say it is lacking," says the article. What BS.

I challenge anyone to go to Yahoo or any other crappy search engine and see if you can find the following:

  1. A blog talking about all of these concerns and more.
  2. A privacy policy that's actually readable and very clear about what information they're gathering.
  3. When Yahoo, Microsoft or anyone else will destroy the record(s) of your visit. Google will do it anywhere between 18-24 months.
Trusting Yahoo or Microsoft - HAH! - to be more open or forthcoming about what and how they do what they do is sheer stupidity. As the article says, Yahoo and Microsoft do the same damn things as Google does e.g.: collecting data about your visit which web servers do by default anyway - and using that to figure out how to better their services.

It's trendy to carefully inspect a horse-as-a-present in the mouth but that doesn't mean it isn't stupid. If there's a better search engine out there ...wait, no, there isn't.

Well that's about it. As usual I need to take my bath and hit the road pretty soon. English to be taught and so on.

Oh last thing. There was a crappy article by the NY Times about traveling to Krakow. Their copy editor or fact-checker must be on holiday too or suddenly the money in my US account is worth a LOT more since they claim the exchange rate is nearly 1 USD to 9 PLN.

That article is stupid because: Wow, someone found all the trendy places. Yes, please, I want to be deafended by the same crappy music at every place I visit. Also, can I stay in an overpriced hotel or sleep over a drunk college student in a hostel and pay $50/night for that? What, you've got a list of those very places?! Great. I think Val was paying about $33/night for a single room, single bed with shared bathroom and it was right on Florianska for god's sakes. Do some research, NY Times!

At least the article was positive although it did note upon the pervasive hand-wringing church and church-goers who bemoan the drunk British people here. Funny enough, there is an advert - everywhere - about three of Krakow's cultural icons sitting on a bench in the Rynek with massive hangovers. There's been an outcry about this cause it sends a bad image to all of the drunk pensioners, students, politicians and frankly everyone. Denial ain't just a river in Egypt, folks.

Tuesday, May 29, 2007

Vigilante justice

In my experience, Polish drivers aren't necessarily the worst drivers nor are they the definition of unsafe. Insane, rude, inconsiderate ...yes, ok. Also maybe unsafe. Yes, definitely unsafe. But not necessarily bad drivers.

A bad driver is someone who didn't realize they were going to cause an accident or someone who didn't know they were breaking the law even though even an eel would have realized it's completely illegal to turn left out of that lane.

No, Polish drivers are simply rude. A product of the MTV, I-only-care-about-me-so-fuck-you generation? Well, I don't think so. MTV is more of a recent phenominon here and, in fact, people in government are just now picking up on how one of the Teletubbies might be a homo. So they're a bit behind the times in the TV department. They're not bad drivers: they know they are going to cut you off. They know it's illegal to turn there. They know the light was red. ...They just don't care.

So, what going on here? Why is this the way it is? Well, I'm glad I put those questions in your mouth because it just so happens that I think I have the answers. I wish it was something like MTV because that'd be easy. No, I'm afraid there are lots and lots of reasons why things have gotten as bad as they are and it sure as hell ain't the Teletubbies' fault.

There are many reasons.

1. Not enough cops.
2. Cops can be bribed for less than the fines.
3. Fines are behind the times.
4. Cops openly ask for bribes.
5. Cops don't have enough oversight in order to prevent bribes.
6. Cops aren't paid well enough in order to help prevent the need for bribes.
7. Due to the above six items, people flaunt the law, knowing that they probably won't be caught and if they are they can probably bribe a cop. The odds are good that acting like a dick will pay off.
8. Other motorists take it in stride, strangely enough.
9. Unlike Britain and perhaps the US, most everyone else has not mastered the art of queuing. Note that this is not being patient. It is queuing which is something entirely different.
10. There are speed cameras but I've never seen one flash, nor has anyone else. Ergo, they aren't used and are thus mostly ignored.
11. There is a culture of blame: it's not the speed, alcohol, unsafe driving, talking on the phone, or lack of a seatbelt that killed my boy, it's that tree that jumped out into the road!
12. There is a cultural inferiority complex: Like most drivers everywhere, Poles want to be Master and Commander. Death Before Yielding and First Off the Line are all to often the mottos of young and, lets face it, male drivers in small, underpowered cars. They assume that by acting like a dick that they are somehow more in control of everything and thus better than their European counterparts. This also explains the profusion of somewhat elderly Mercedes and BMW's that populate the roads.

I propose:

1. Raising all the fines by 1000%. This would make the average fine well in excess of the average person's monthly salary. We're trying to make it unaffordable to be a dick and to give cops a living wage. Also, this will pay for a raise for cops.
2. Video cameras in all police cars that are on 100% of the time while an officer is on duty and are randomly checked. We're trying to curb corruption here.
3. Ticket quotas for at least two years but ONLY after number one and two have been implemented for awhile. Once cops are honest quotas can be enforced without fear of abuse but there will always be the courts to balance out this power.
4. Colour the speed cameras flourescent yellow and orange and give them a tolerance of 3 km/hr. Then put some damn film in the cameras. Use these inconjunction with fast courts and/or incontestable cases.
5. Fire all uncooperative, corrupt or lazy cops.
6. One year suspension of licenses for 2-times-in-2-months offenders. Five year suspension of licenses if the offender offends once within one year of getting their license back. Lifetime suspension if once within one year after that. The standard 1000% fines (roughly 2,000 - 10,000 PLN per offense) would also apply.
7. One year suspension of license of anyone that causes an accident. Fine: 25,000 PLN. Immediate 50% payment or liquidation of home/property to cover the fine.
8. Five year suspension of license when anyone is caught drunk driving. Fine: 50,000 PLN. Immediate 50% payment or liquidation of home/property to cover the fine.
9. Lifetime suspension of license when anyone causes an accident while drunk driving. Fine: 500,000 PLN and immediate 50% payment. Immediate 50% payment or liquidation of home/property to cover the fine.
10. Driving while your license is suspended: 5 years jail time with no chance of suspended sentence or early parole. Lifetime driving ban. 1 million PLN fine and 800 hours of roadside cleanup (approximately 2 years of weekends).

Draconian? Severe? Why yes, it is. The response is proprortional to the situation. It is PROPORTIONAL. Only through crushingly unbelievable punishment - or threat thereof - can we curb these anti-social behaviors. How do I know I'm right?

Norway.

Do these fines work? They sure do. Having spent nearly a week driving in Western and Eastern Norway at a variety of times and on a variety of roads I can attest that the following are fact:

1. Drivers rarely, if ever, speed. The typical speeding excess is between 5-7 km/hr.
2. Drivers don't tailgate (it's unsafe driving, a ticketable offense).
3. Drivers rarely overtake.
4. There are quite a few cops around.
5. There are even more speed cameras around.
6. Norwegians are well aware of the penalities and the common response is, "We can not afford to speed."

Monday, May 28, 2007

More of the same

Saw Pirates 3 yesterday. This is twice now that MultiKino has irritatingly delayed the start of a film. The showing is supposed to go at 1630. That's when the commercials start. The film didn't actually start until 1655. Of course, if you reserve seats in advance you must be there 30 minutes early. What else to do other than sit in the theatre during that time? So, they have a captive audience for a good 45 minutes. Assholes. Pirates 3 was ok BTW. The jokes are a bit stale but for a free flick it wasn't bad.

Walked around a bit before the film with Paula, gathering waypoints in osiedle Kolorowe, the neighborhood where Paula's grandma lives. I traced the buildings, added roads, a couple of POI's, building names/numbers and sent it all off to Piotr L.

We're meeting Paula's parents again for lunch pretty soon. They're going home afterwards, I think. Paula's dad has somewhat ineptly been trying to lean on Paula to change her mind so she will want to get the Toyota Yaris I would like to get. I don't know why that is that people, especially parents, think they can change their kids' minds by force. It never works or so rarely that I'm amazed at the persistence of people and their repeated attempts. Paula wants the Citroen C4 and, frankly, it's not such a bad car. Beautiful and lots of gadgets and the bottom line is it's bigger. Bigger boot, more room all around. If we get the 5 door then it's pretty practical, too. Maybe that sounds too grown up but we haul a lot of people around and I doubt they like the 3 door that much.

Time for my bath, wrapping up some clubbin' in Travian and at some point going to school and working a bit.

Sunday, May 27, 2007

Whatever.

Yesterday was ok. We met up with P's parents and had a pretty good time. Of course they called two or three or four times between one and two pm to wonder where the hell we were at. Having had to stand in commie food lines for hours (many hours) at a time you'd think they'd have developed some patience but that is not the case.

After lunch (the reason for 234,102 calls and rushing) I walked a bit around the neighborhood, noting addresses of buildings and keeping a tracklog and generally acting suspicious e.g. being young, holding something in my hand in a not-at-all-supicious manner and not drinking anything alcoholic. I had lots of people stare at me which is always fun. I did grab addresses of a bunch of places though, so I'll start updating the UMP Polska maps for that little neighborhood pretty soon.

Speaking of which, Piotr L. and I will probably meet up sometime during the week or perhaps next weekend. I look forward to meeting him; his involvement in the UMP has definitely spurred me on.

Travian: Goin' out clubbin. I've found it works better with at least five clubbies and fairly nearby (round trip < 50 min) and with someone who doesn't have a few guys of their own waiting around. That reminds me: Paula's dad was pissed at Ryszio and Ewa because they just got a new (used) car from Germany through a cousin or something and brought it over here. Well that's not the reason but I'll get to it. Anyway, it's a 2003 or '04 Nissan Micra. Rated against similar-ish cars it kind of ranks down at the bottom due to: small boot, not-great acceleration, 4 star NCAP (as opposed to 5), no cruise control, no alloys, no automatic or tiptronic. It's ok if you don't mind it not having any goodies and being a bit slow. I'm sure it's fairly reliable as it is Japanese... just not very exciting. It's cheaper than the Yaris but frankly not big enough to really haul two normal people around in the back plus P and I in the front and if we can't haul our friends around occasionally then we'd feel kind of stupid. So, either the Yaris or probably a C4. We'll see - Paula is set against the Yaris because she doesn't like how it looks in comparison. We're going to see P's parents soon and then Pirates 3 and my clubbies are back from out clubbin' so it's time to do it again. Or not. I'm trying to publish this goddamned blog thing and I'm encountering a "temporary error." Google, get your shiz together, please.

Since this has been stuck for like 10 minutes, I took the time to upload a screenshot of a spreadsheet of cars we are interested in or at least interested in comparing to other cars.

Saturday, May 26, 2007

Still hating it.

Paula and I went out last night with a bunch of her friends. We had a pretty good time except that the bar/pub/disco (hereafter referred to as a bubsco) that we went to started playing exceedingly loud music at 2130. Why the hell does a place that serves dinner (pizza, spaghetti, etc) start playing music at 2130 so loud that you have to yell across the table to be heard? There's no such thing as a proper pub here, nor a proper disco. There are plenty of bars, though.

Paula of course felt crappy today. I feel fine.

We've been playing Travian all morning and watching Stawka większa niż życie aka "More at Stake Than Life". It's an old Polish series about a secret double agent guy. The commies made it so our current government decided to tell the public TV station that they couldn't play it any more. Yay for idiot governments and state-owned TV. Also yay for privately-owned TV station TVN that bought it and started airing it again because it's a very popular show.

Soon we will be seeing Paula's parents and hanging out with them a bunch. It's Mother's Day so they are visiting Krakow grandma for the whole weekend. We'll see Pirates of the Carribean 3 tomorrow afternoon with them. Belchatow grandma came too, so I'm sure I will hear about how I don't speak Polish very well yet despite the fact that even if I did I have no idea what she would want to talk to me about other than to berate Paula and I for one thing or another ...in Polish. Not much incentive to learn, I'm afraid.

Paula's mom just dropped off a ton of food and told us we have to be there sometime after 1 pm which I assume means 1:01 or something closer.

Friday, May 25, 2007

I don't want to do this. I hate it.

No one gives - or ought to give - a shit about what I do every day. I'm not a celebrity or even a vaguely interesting person. I assume I'm like everyone else. However, everyone has a blog it seems and somehow they write in them constantly.

I've tried blogging many times but this time is different: I will write every day that I have internet access. So, damn near every day. My goal is to write down all the inane garbage that crosses my mind, anything that I do, interesting or more likely not. I will do this for one year and then hopefully no one will have read it and proved me right so I can quit it.

So, today.

I contemplated converting to Judaism in order to wear the cool hats and piss off Paula's grandma in Belchatow. I don't think I'm serious though because only the Reformed jews are tolerant and flexible enough for me and because I doubt I could find kosher or approved meat here.

BTW, here is Krakow, Poland. More about that later.

I showed up for work at 0825. I sat out on the step in front of the Orange store, next to the entrance to our building because I don't have keys to open the building and must wait for the receptionist to show up. I assume I looked like a very trendy homeless person with my laptop struggling to maintain a wireless connection. I chatted with geocachers on IRC and played with Travian.

My 0900 student once again failed to show up. I don't know why he bothers taking English classes because when he does show up he is too thick to figure it all out. Surely he would be better off in a proper class with other people but wanted individual lessons.

My 1030 student did show up. That class was fine.

It's now 1345 and I am doing this. Later I will go out drinking with Paula, my wife, and hopefully she will stop at three or four beers rather than five or six because Paula's parents are coming in to town tomorrow and we need to spend some time with them and it won't be fun if she's as hungover as a wolverine.